The Faroese government currently consists of nine ministers including the Prime Minister.

Føroya Landsstýri (The Cabinet of the Faroe Islands) has been the chief executive body and the government of the Faroe Islands since the islands became self-governing in 1948. The cabinet is led by løgmaður (the Prime Minister). There are several members of the Cabinet, known as landsstýrismaður/kvinna (Ministers) all of whom are also heads of specific government ministries. The ministers are appointed by the Prime Minister.