11.12.2007 · The Government

National Elections in January 2008

The Prime Minister of the Faroes has announced that the national elections for the Faroese Parliament, løgtingið, will take place on Saturday the 19th of January 2008. There will be elected 33 members of the Parliament for a period of four years.

A reform earlier this year changed the electoral districts from seven to only one constituency. A total of six parties are standing for election. The parties are divided by two major questions: the question of national independence and the ideological left-right question.