The Government   >   English Edition   >   Foreign Relations   >   Marine resources   >   NEAFC


NEAFC (North East Atlantic Fisheries Commission) is the Regional Fisheries Management Organisation (RFMO) for the North East Atlantic , one of the most abundant fishing areas in the world. The area covered by the NEAFC Convention stretches from the southern tip of Greenland, east to the Barents Sea, and south to Portugal.

The Faroe Islands participate in NEAFC, together with Greenland, under the title Denmark in respect of the Faroe Islands and Greenland (DFG). Decisions the NEAFC makes in relation to migrating fish stock will usually be based on the pre-existing bilateral agreements made regarding member’s shared fish stock e.g. herring, mackerel and blue whiting.

Other members are EU, Iceland, Norway and Russia.

More information can be found on: